Oakland Tribune

The Oakland Tribune newspaper has been serving Oakland since 1874, setting up shop twenty two years after the city of Oakland was incorporated, started by George Staniford and Benet Dewes.

The Tribune is currently the only daily print and online newspaper in the city of Oakland, serving about 183,700 daily readers-roughly a third of Oakland’s population.

The Tribune tower was opened in 1924, where the Tribune staff worked until the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989. In 2007 the Tribune building was sold and the newspaper staff has moved.

However, the iconic Tribune sign will stay on the tower until its last days as the tower has been a California historical landmark since 1976. Some notable facts about the newspaper and the tower are that in 1923, Harry Houdini escaped from a strait jacket while hanging from the tower’s ninth floor. The paper has won two Pulitzer Prizes in photography, the most recent was in 1989 for photos of the Loma Prieta earthquake. Among the numerous owners of the Tribune is a former state congressman and Robert Maynard, the first Black person ever to own a city newspaper. Currently, the Tribune is a part of the Bay Area News Group, which owns a majority of the Bay Area’s major newspapers.

Cite this Page:

Emily Mibach, “Oakland Tribune,” Street Stories: Oakland, accessed December 14, 2017, http://streetstoriesoakland.com/items/show/32.

Share this Story